Eating the Yard, Part II…

Two days ago, I posted how overgrown my yard had become, and that I wasn’t going to let all my weed crop go to waste.  Instead, I harvested what was good, and made dinner.  (More on that here.)

Dandelion leaves weren’t the only things I plucked.  I grabbed a few wild onions while I was out there.

Of course, wild onions aren’t exactly sparkling clean when you pull them out of the dirt…

So I took them to the sink, washed off the dirt, and pulled off the brown and outer leaves, exposing the clean bulbs beneath.

Then, I chopped them finely, and added some to that dandelion salad, and then rubbed the rest onto some pork chops that I had covered with olive oil and chopped garlic.

See, once they’re clean, wild onions look just like the green scallions you buy at the store, but they’re free!

I was going to grill the chops outside, but we ran out if gas!  So instead, I cooked them in a pan on the stove.

Just the same, it turned out amazingly, and the only thing I paid for was the pig.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Fun and Free Ideas, Gardening, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

Leave a Reply

