Trash to Treasure…

Several weeks ago, we inherited an old computer monitor.  Husband and Son quickly gutted  the machine, looking at how it worked, and keeping what spare parts they thought they could use for other things.  Then, the shell sat in the kitchen for weeks.  The more I looked at it, the more I thought it looked like something other than a computer monitor shell.  So I finally took it, and got to work.

Of course, I started with a simple shell…

But when turned face down, I thought it looked like a fortress….

So I grabbed my xacto knife, and cut up some cardboard…

to make some cardboard floors.  And since there were two floors, I needed stairs.  I made some of those, too.

(forgive the photos, the flash broke.)

Son loved his knew toy, even with the make-shift floors…

But I knew the floors would never stand up to his boyish playing.  So I took them out, and using the cardboard as a template, I cut new floors from some scrap pressboard.

Over spring break, after seeing I was spending all my time cleaning dear ole Dad’s house, I asked him to take over securing the floors in place, and making some stronger steps.  He obliged, and after a while spent cutting up a blue plastic barrel, and stapling it together, he had completed my little project.

Here are the finished results…

While I’d love to add things like railing to the balconies, I know they’d never survive.  I also want this new fortress to be a toy, not a model, and so I don’t want it too perfect.  Some day, Son will tire of it, and out it will go.  We won’t save it in the attic like some of his other toys, and I’m ok with that.  I want to be ok with that.  But for now, he has a place for his Army Men, Ironman, and the rest of the Avengers to scheme in attempt to save the universe, and it didn’t cost me a thing.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Fun and Free Ideas, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth, Toys

2 responses to “Trash to Treasure…

  1. oh you are so talented! I love the end result!

Leave a Reply

