Last Minute Christmas Decor…

Even though it’s after the Christmas Holiday, and the floor is strewn with torn paper and bows, I still have two Christmas Pledge decorations that I did, but didn’t have enough days to post.  They were simple, and quick, and you never know, you just might need an idea for next year, or a late family Christmas celebration — we still have one last hurrah on the 8th of January.

First, my three nutcrackers.  I have a soft-spot for old guys, and nutcrackers are the embodiment of old man.  I don’t go crazy.  I’m not really into all the different “collectors” versions of nutcrackers, and up until this year, I only owned one; a short little, Pole/Russian looking guy that I picked up at the dollar store during our first Christmas.  He’s short, stout, and comforting, but this year, I decided to add some regal scouts to the army.

Of course, I went to the dollar to pick up recruits, and came home with three strict looking lads.

 

I wanted to paint them a regal white, so I carefully pulled all their hair off.  I’m sure it was demoralizing, but I promised them it was standard military issue.

Then I took them out into the garage, and blasted them all white.

It took over 6 coats, and some parts still weren’t fully covered, but they were good enough for high shelf.  I can always spray them again next year.

And once they were dry, I used some good glue to stick their hair and beards back one.  I know that many of the modern takes on the nutcracker shaves them down to prepubescent boys, but since I like that they are old men, and their crazy hair styles are such a large factor, I just had to put it all back.

I love how they turned out.

The other item I ticked off my list  was hanging some ornaments from the dining room ceiling.  I picked up a managerie of cheap, plastic ornaments, and simply used clear push pins and thread to hang them at varying heights.

What do you think?

I’m not completely sold on it.  In some ways, I feel it accentuates my ugly light fixture and popcorn finish on the ceiling.  I did get several compliments on it, and I think with a few tweaks, it could really shine next year.  Of course, I’ll be sure to share!

And I can’t wait to share with you the treats I made for Christmas dinner, and the gifts that Husband gave me this year.  He really made up for the last two years!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, DIY, Home Design, Home Making

Leave a Reply

