Dreaming of a White Christmas…

OK, so if you know me at all, you know that the above statement isn’t so much true.  Me and snow aren’t really what you would call friends.  I mean, sure, snow is pretty, but only for the first day, and only if you get to stay inside with a crackling fire, and a cup of hot coffee, or mulled wine, depending on your what you prefer.  Luckily, I live in Texas, and though it does seem to snow every year, it doesn’t hang around long, and it hardly every snows on Christmas.  But there is something about that Rockwell look of a glowing house, Christmas tree in the window, smoke drifting out of the chimney, and snow swirling about that seems so Christmasy.  And this year, with my Popsickle snowflakes, seen here, I’ve already said yes to snow; or at least we’ve come to a truce.

You see, a few weeks ago, while digging for Christmas Project supplies at my local Dollar Tree, I came across these large plastic snow flakes.  They were as large as my face, and I couldn’t think of anything to do with them, so I left them behind.  Then, I had an epiphany a few days later, and ran back to purchase 18 of the suckers.  Yes, that’s $18.00 worth of plastic snowflakes, the size of my face.  I figured, what I didn’t need, I could always return.

I then measured, and drew a full-scale mock-up of the space I wanted to hang my flakes.  I’ve sung the praises of the full-scale mock-ups before, here and here.  And then I laid my snowflakes out in different patterns.

I quickly decided that the 6 patterned group was too much, and the 5 was the way to go.  This is why you do mock-ups!  But there was more to do.  The snowflakes came a hazy-clear colour, and I wanted a more statement-making white.  Of course, you all know what that means.  I reached for my nearest can of spray paint.

I even ran out of my good paint halfway through, and switched to a can of Husband’s cheap stuff to finish the job.  Can you tell?  Even better, since these things aren’t going to be hanging in my house, are clearish, and won’t be seen up close, I only painted one side.  When they were dry, and Husband was finally home to help me, we hung them on the front porch using fishing line and push-pins.  Yeah, it was a really complicated system.

I may add some weights to the bottoms to keep my flakes from swinging too much, but I’m loving the over-all design.  Not bad for a mere ten clams.  Of course, ignore the ugly brownish paint; I’ll repaint in something more cheery some day, you know, when it’s not snowing and all.

1 Comment

Filed under Christmas, DIY, Home Design

One response to “Dreaming of a White Christmas…

  1. Caedwin

    Clever idea!

Leave a Reply

