Sing a Song of Six Pence…

…Four onions and three mushrooms baked in a pie…

Two days ago, I posted this photo I came across on Pinterest.

I also mentioned that I clicked through to the recipe on Simply Delicious‘ blog.  Well, I skimmed it, but I didn’t print it.  Instead, I did what I always do, I used it as a jumping point.  I made my own roast using onions and mushrooms, more on that here, before I put the leftovers away, I shredded it.  Since it was fork tender, this wasn’t hard.

The night that I made the pie, and pulled the meat from the fridge, it looked like this…

I chopped it up a bit more, and then put it all into a pot to simmer.

In the meantime, I sliced another onion up, caramelized it, and then did the same to three more mushrooms, just like I did when making the roast.

Once they were done, I added the meat to my pan, a little at a time, and mixed it all together.  Then I made a quick little gravy with flour, water, and bullion in the microwave, and mixed that in.

While it sat on the stove, thickening, I rolled out my thawed puff pastry.

I cut it to fit my baking dish, and then rolled my scraps to create dumplings.  Yum.

I poured my meat mixture into my baking dish, and added my dumplings.

Then I covered the whole thing with my pastry top, brushed it with melted butter, and sprinkled it with salt.

I put the pie into a 375 degree oven, and let it cook.  An hour later, it still wasn’t brown like the pie in my inspiration picture, but we were all hungry, so I gave up, and pulled it out.

It’s not as pretty, and the crust didn’t cook as much as I would have preferred, but it still tasted good on the plate.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Home Making

4 responses to “Sing a Song of Six Pence…

  1. vado retro

    looks delish. two tips….one, you can use a potato masher to break up your roast. works really well if you’re making pulled pork or something like that
    two, when you put the puff pastry on top make it kind of uneven around the edges to give it a rustic look. i may make something like this tonight.

  2. Caedwin

    The golden sheen of the “original” may be the result of an egg wash over the puff pastry. Did you do that before you baked the pot pie?

Leave a Reply

