Roasted…

The otherday, I was surfing on Pinterest, and came across this photo…

I immediately pinned it, and clicked through the this recipe, Beef and Mushroom Pie.

It looked amazing, and I had some puff pastry in the freezer, but I didn’t have any leftover roast.  Since I had a raw, beef loin tip roast in the freezer, I figured I could remedy that.

Since I had an end product in mind for the left overs, I knew I didn’t want to make my usual pot roast, which includes potatoes, tomatoes, carrots, and onions.  Those left overs always turn into stew the next day.  As much as I love stew, it really isn’t stew weather yet, and that picture just looks so good!  I settled on something much more simple.

Just 3 and a half onions (I had a half in the fridge), two carrots, three mushrooms, and three bullion cubes, and no I’m not ashamed to say I use bullion cubes, groceries have gotten expensive, and the bullion is much cheaper than stock in a box.

Because I wanted the eventual pie to have a deep, onion flavour, I started by caramelizing the onions.  I put about a tablespoon of butter into the pot…

and began thinly slicing my onions.

It’s times like these that I wish I had a mandolin.  And maybe some of those stylish onion goggles.

One of the things I learned from Good Eats, back when we had cable, was how to properly brown onions.  You have to do it slowly, a little at a time.  I turned the stove to medium-high, and put a handful of onions in my pot of melted butter, making sure to spread them out so they don’t steam.  Once the first handful of onions were brown, I scooted them to the edges, where the pot is a little cooler, and added another handful, and a sprinkling of salt.

It took me nearly an hour to cook all my onions down.

While they cooked, I turned to my mushrooms.

I read in Cooks Illustrated that white button mushrooms that were older, and a little brown, had more flavour than the young ones.  When I buy them, I don’t worry about how they look in the store, just how they feel, nobody wants slimy mushrooms, and of course they brown even more the longer they sit in my fridge.  I washed, and then sliced my mushrooms to a medium thickness…

and then, did a rough chop of all of those…

After the onions had finished cooking, I added my mushrooms into the pot, cooking them in the same manner, so they would brown, and not steam — this ensures the beefy flavour.

As the mushrooms cooked, I heated two cups of water to boiling in the microwave.

I heated the water to boiling to keep the pot from cooling too much when added, and yes, that is a string in my water.  I also learned from Good Eats that when you boil water in glass, in the microwave, if the bubbles have nowhere to form/cling, the glass can explode.  Observe…

Maybe I’m just over cautious.  In any case, after I pulled the water out, I removed the string, and added two bullion cubes.  Then I stirred to dissolved, and poured it into my pot.

I let this cook a bit, while I tended to the loin tip.

Isn’t that the most beautiful piece of meat you’ve ever seen?  Ignore how that sounds.  I didn’t even colour-correct any of my photos because of how perfect that hulk is.  It’s from my mother.  Well, not from her, but from her freezer.  She decided to buy an entire side of beef, and I really mean half-cow by that, and then gave me a bunch of it.  It really is very tasty beef.  Sorry, I got off topic a bit.  To prepare the meat, I started with it at room temp — I pulled it out an hour so so before cooking — and liberally salted, and medium peppered both sides.

I also cut my carrots into smaller logs, and placed them into my pot to create a bed for the roast.

After nearly an hour and a half, I was finally ready to place the roast into the pot…

cover it, and place it into a 275 degree oven.

I left it in there for 5 hours, adding another hot cup of bullion water to the pot halfway through.  When it came out, it was fork tender, and delicious.

All the left overs will be used in the pot-pie recipe, and don’t worry, I will be sure to post it here!

___________________________________________________________________

Mushroom and Onion Pot Roast

Ingredients:

1 Beef Roast, come to room temp

3.5 medium onions, cut in half and sliced thiny

2 carrots, cut to similar sizes

3 Mushrooms, sliced and rough chopped

2 cups beef stock/broth

1 cup beef stock/broth, for later

Salt

Pepper

________________________________________________________

Melt butter over medium-high heat.

Add handful of sliced onions, and cook until brown.

Move cooked onions to side of pot, and add another handful.  Continue until all onions are cooked.

Move all onions to the side of pot, and cook mushrooms in same method as the onions.

Boil 2 cups of stuck.

Salt and pepper roast.

Pour stock into pot, scraping up any brown bits from the bottom of the pot.

Place carrots into the pot, and top with roast.

Cover, and place pot into a 275 degree oven.

Cook for 5 hours, adding other cup of stock halfway through cooking.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Home Making

2 responses to “Roasted…

  1. Caedwin

    It was an WHOLE beef, not a SIDE. So, out of a 1000 lb steer, we got 600 lbs of beef.

  2. Caedwin

    make that “a” WHOLE beef (I changed my mind in mid sentence and forgot to correct the article.

Leave a Reply

