Happy Birthday…

Today, my brother is turning the big Two One!  Normally, we don’t go through the trouble of giving each other gifts, but I felt this birthday was an exception.  It sort of brings him into the world, at least, legally.  And to mark the occasion, I made him a flask.

Now, I’ve made flasks before, my anniversary, Christmas gifts, but I’ve never gone through the process step by step for you guys.

The first thing I always do is create a design on my computer.  This time, I printed the idea out onto sticky paper.

I cut out each side, and then stuck them to the flask…

To better line up the pattern, I folded the backing like so…

and then lined it all up.

Once I got it all smoothed into place, I had an unwelcome surprise…

Yeah, it didn’t line up.  Somehow I was off on my math.  But I used a bit of scrap sticky-paper to fix the problem…

I made sure to overlap the papers some, but once I started cutting, I found I’d overlapped too much.  Yep, the next step was cutting it all out.  Amazingly, the letters took me only 30 minutes, but the rest of the pattern took me several hours.  Two raw fingers, and a hand cramp later, it looked like this…

I quickly masked off the top…

and it was ready for the Media Blaster!!

Behold, the Media Blaster…

It’s a giant cabinet, filled with sand, or some other material, an air hose, and a nozzle.  Just think of it as a contained sand-blaster.  The inside looks like this…

And yes, that bag had to be removed before I could blast, and yes, it was very heavy.

I put the flask into the blaster, and blasted away at the shiny, exposed surfaces.  When I was done, it looked like this…

Yep.  It was filthy.  I did a quick wash, and then set to task peeling off the masking.  I thought that wouldn’t be so hard, but it turns out that sticky-paper is very sticky.  I tried soap and water; I tried denatured alchohol, but none of them worked well.  In the end, I had to use my good ole finger nails.  It Sucked!

It made a huge mess, and after, I had to scrub all the glue that was left behind.  But the finished project was so worth it.

Of course, I didn’t give it to him empty.  I filled it up with Scotch.  I also didn’t really put “Dork” on the front.  I went classic, and just went with his last name; I figured it was the only thing that wouldn’t ever change.  He loved it.  At least I think he did.  It can be hard to tell with siblings…

 

Just putting some feelers out there; would anyone be interested in ordering a personalized flask?  Christmas/Chanukuh/Festivus is coming… 

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

Leave a Reply

