The Drawing Board…

Yesterday, I mentioned that Son was growing up, catch up here.  That he was outgrowing his toddler bed, a.k.a. the crib with the mattress lowered and one of the rails removed.  I had to come up with a new plan, and fast.  Since Son’s room is only 10′ x 10′, I knew that a king-size bed was out of the question, not to mention that I don’t even have a bed that big.  And while I knew that a twin size bed would be perfect, I wanted to keep my options open in case we ever decide to expand our brood.  A 10′ x 10′ room isn’t big enough for two dressers, and two twin size beds, plus room to play.  I was going to have to think outside of the box, and you know what I always say.  If you don’t have the floor space, then use the walls.  This worked great in my pantry, so why not in Son’s room, too?  After an hour of measuring and designing, I came up with this…

My thought was, with the bed lofted, Son would have room to play below, and in the event that we have another child, I can place the crib, and eventually the bed, perpendicular, but still under the lofted platform.  There will also be room for a desk, and whatever else Son my need.  If we never have another child, I’m sure he could put a couch down there.

Now sure, we could do all those things with a store-bought loft bed, but you see that white box ontop of the platform?  That’s what the twin-sized mattress sits in.  A bought loft bed would leave a mere 4 feet or so between the end of the bed and the wall.  That’s not much space for anything, and whatever you did put there would feel crowded.  Plus, store-bought beds go much higher than our piddly 4′-6″.  Sure, this leaves more room underneath, but allows only a foot or two between the mattress and ceiling.  That’s never comfortable; not for sleeper, and not for the parents of the sleeper who have to rush in, half asleep when there’s a problem.

So by mounting the bed to the walls, we could choose our own height and make use of the left over 4 feet that a store-bought loft would’ve given us.  My house is small, and so I have to be smart about how I use my space.  I decided to place corner shelves at the top of the platform, just behind the ladder.  While Son is young, these will be book shelves, and the landing can be his own little reading nook.  To make this area comfortable for him, I chose to carpet it.  Lofting his bed also allowed me to keep his toy box, and our reading chair relatively in place.

As great as all those bonuses sound, I’m sure you’re all wondering, “Well, yeah, but how much did it cost?”  You won’t believe me, but I’ll tell you anyway.

We got the cheapest mattress that Ikea sells for $99.00.  All the wood and supplies we bought at Home Depot, and paid a mere $178 for them all.  I already had my chosen stain on hand, along with the white paint.  Ikea, which arguably sells the least expensive, but still solid wood furniture has a loft bed listed for $299.00, and that doesn’t include the mattress.  So there.  My way was the winning way.  Of course, you all should’ve known it would be.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Home Design, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

Leave a Reply

