Thinking Outside of the Kitchen…

If you’ve been following this blog, then you know that my mother had been redecorating her kitchen, a little at a time.  First, we pulled down the wall paper, more about that here, then she painted and we hung curtains.  You can see that here.  I even shared with you some of our design ideas, here.  Well, based on that all those ideas, and the light fixture that she ordered, we’ve been searching for a suitable table cloth.  First, we found a solid blue one at target, and she took it home, but we kept looking.  On another trip back to Target, we found the perfect fabric for her table, but there was a slight problem.  That perfect fabric was actually hanging out in the shower curtain isle.  We brainstormed, and she took the shower curtain with her.

When we got it home, we laid the curtain out on my floor.

Then we laid the old, solid blue table cloth out on top, being sure to allow about an inch all the way around for seam allowance.

Once it was all pinned in place, we, I mean me — she made me do all the work — cut out the shower curtain, again, leaving around an inch for seam allowance.  Turns out that a standard shower curtain is perfect for making a round table cloth.

My mother then ironed and pinned the seams down.

Once she had all that completed, she ran a simple stitch to hold down the seam, using my machine, of course.  When she got it home, I asked her to send me some photos.  Here they are…

I won’t see it in person until Saturday, but I think it’s going to work.  I’m really happy that we turned a table cloth from a shower curtain.  Even better, I like that this table cloth, while still being a nice fabric, does have a slight water-resistance to it.  I think that will really help in its new function.

So what do you think?  Will I find you in the shower isle the next time you need a table cloth?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Home Design, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth, Sewing

Leave a Reply

