It’s Here!!!

Ok, actually, it got here Friday, just in time to really test it out.

What’s that?  You don’t know what I’m talking about?  Why my new trash can, duh!  A 200 dollar trash can, to be more exact.  Pull your jaw back up off the floor.  Really.  I know it’s a splurge, but let me show you why I went for it.

The can is made by Simple Human, and although I initially balked on price, I did love the style.  It is stylish, and our can sits out in the open, so it’s nice to have trash can with some pizzazz.

The reviews on Simple Human’s website were also top notch, and the reviewers that did complain about something were responded to by Simple Human themselves, the company, not a simple human — I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt on this one.

Also, Simple human was the only company to make a trash can that held two, yes I said two bins inside of one neat unit.  You see, Husband had been after me for months, maybe even a year, to do something about the recyclables pile on the counter.  Since we only had one trash can, I would neatly stack the glasses, cans, ect, on an unusable part of the counter, next to the microwave.  Sometimes the pile would get a little out of hand, but at least I was recycling, which is more than I can say for Husband who always put his cans and bottles into the trash instead of walking the 5 extra feet to the neatly-stacked recyclables pile.  Now he has no excuse!  The recyclables and the trash are side by side, and even in the same container.  So if you really think about it, I got a two for one deal on the thing, and it was cheaper than a marriage ref.

So for my actual review…

 

Simple Human sent along more than just the trash can.  Really.  It came with goodies!

That’s trash bags for each side — Simple Human is known for their custom-sized bags, but once I run out, I’ll give generic ones a go— two charcoal filters to keep the trash can smelling fresh, and then another jumbo package of trash bags.  To be honest, I never had a problem with our trash smelling, and if it did, we took it out, but then again, we didn’t have a tidy little lid for our trash can either, so maybe it just aired out, or maybe it was one of those pig things… you know, about how they can’t smell their own stink?  I can tell you now that there is odor inside the trash can, but since I’ve never had a lidded trash can, I can’t really tell you if the filter is working or not.

The designers at Simple Human clearly put some thought into the trash can.  The step you use to open the lid is silent, and it closes silently as well thanks to a little piston hidden inside.  There is also a little red switch you can engage to keep the lid open for bag changing, ect.  And as for changing the bag?  Well, they didn’t forget that part of trash can life, either.  There’s a little perch inside to rest the can on while taking out, and putting in new bags.

The one thing that I was really worried about though, was size.  Our old can was huge.  I mean, we used the big ole black garbage bags, not the little white ones.  The Simple Human can is a mere baby by comparison.  It’s caused me to really think about what I put into the trash can.  If it’s large, then I just have Son take it outside — the joys of having kids, right?  But to my surprise, we still haven’t filled up the trash side of the can.  The recyclables side is nearly full, though I don’t know if that’s because we’re recycling more, or if that’s just how it would look when my neat stack is all piled together.

We’re very happy with the new Simple Human trash/recycler.  The only thing I would change is adding the fingerprint-less feature to the lid and the step, instead of just the sides of the can.  And just so you know, I did remove the GIANT sticker from the outside.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Home Design, Musings, Organization, Reviews

Leave a Reply

