My Beginning Schedule…

Yesterday I shared with you all that I am embarking on a new path, to become the best home-maker I can be.  Heck, when I’m done, you all will be saying “Martha Who?”

Ok, so maybe that’s just the cleaner talking.

I decided to begin the only way I ever begin tackling a large task.  With a list, but this time, not just any kind of list, I started with a calendar.  I decided that Mondays would be my monthly-cleaning days.  This meant that I had to decide what exactly would be monthly cleaning, and what would be my usual day-to-day cleaning.

While I keep a fairly clean home, I pick up daily, do the dishes, ect, there are areas of my house that I don’t clean often.  I can’t believe I’m about to out myself on the internet, but I’m about to change all that, and the first step of any program is to admit you have a problem.  Here goes…

Hello, I am Gettin’ By, and I have trouble remembering to clean…

  • my bathroom
  • my sheets
  • any sort of dusting
  • my windows
  • my floors with a mopping.
I used to mop quarterly, and the sheets were done just about as often.  I know.  It’s sad.  But no more.  Now those things will be done monthly, on Mondays, according to my calendar.  Of course, there will be adjusting as I get things fleshed out, but for now I’m beginning with one task per Monday.
I began my journey two weeks ago.  I began with the hardest room for me to clean in my house – the bathrooms.  Now if you’ve been a guest in my house, then you wouldn’t ever think I had a issue with this, but that’s because just before you arrive, I wipe down the guest bathroom and clean the toilet.  But you’ve never seen my own bathroom.  I won’t go into too much detail, but I am married to a mechanic, and it took me an entire afternoon to clean my bathroom last week.  I’m glad I was sound enough to begin in the guest bathroom, which took maybe 20 minutes to scrub the toilet, tub, sink, and floor.  By the time I was finished with my own bathroom, it sparkled, but I didn’t.  I was so exhausted that I actually made my husband take me to dinner; I just didn’t have the steam left to cook anything.
This is probably why I didn’t want to clean the room in the first place.  It was just overwhelming.  But it’s done now, and now that I plan on scrubbing it monthly, it won’t be so bad next time.
Last Monday, I washed all the bed linens, on all the beds in my house.  Now that I have been through “bed-linen day” I know that I can combine it with some other small task, like maybe mopping?
But I have committed to making no schedule changes until after a month is passed.  Since I never do many of my “monthly” tasks, I don’t know just how long they will take.  It may take all day to dust the whole house.  It may take only minutes to clean the windows.  I really don’t know, and I don’t want to put tasks together only to find myself zonked at the end of the day.  That’s not what this is all about.  I don’t want to look haggard when my Husband comes home, or be too exhausted from cleaning to play with my Son.  No, being a great home-maker is going to be about balancing all those things, and I’m not crazy enough to think it will all happen at once.  I know that it will take time.  Of course, you guys will be here to cheer me on, and of course I’ll let you know how it goes.
Leave a comment

Filed under Home Making, Musings

Leave a Reply

