Pretty Cover-Ups…

I decided to step out of my comfort zone, at least as far as my dining table goes.  You see, I’m not much of a table cloth person.  I mean, sure, for a nice dinner, or a holiday feast, I’ll throw a table cloth onto my table, and even though it does look nice, I do it mainly because our table leaf is home-made, made from a sheet of plywood, and it doesn’t match the rest of the table.  So why was I willing to venture out?  Well, I’m a mom of a three year old, and not just any three year old, but the mother of a three year old boy.  I just got tired of scrubbing the table with a dish brush after meals.

So while at Target the other day, I wandered over to the table linens section.  (I have also decided that the target, Target refers to, is the customer.  I don’t know a single person that can walk in there and only buy what they intended to.  I swear they pump the air full of Buy-Me pheromones or something.)  I found several that I liked, and finally settled on this one, from Dwell Studio.  Only one problem, my table is square, and it seems they only sell round and rectangular table cloths.  Oh well, I can work with that.  I grabbed a 60″ x 84″ rectangular one, along with a ton of other things.

When I got it home, I opened it up.  I had measured my table before I went shopping, and at 42″, I knew the table cloth was too big, but I was crossing my fingers that the 60″ length wouldn’t be too long.  Turns out it was perfect…

but the 84″ side was just a tad long.

Ok.  A lot long.  But no worries, because I have a sewing machine, and I’m not afraid to use it!

I broke out my math skills, and measured 25″ inches and chopped it off.  I needed a square, and 84″-60″ = 24″ and I added an inch for seam allowance.  Of course, only now that I type that, do I realize my mistake.  I should’ve only taken off 23″, so that 61″ remained.  Dang.  Oh well.

After slicing, I folded and ironed my fabric.  First, half an inch….

and then, I folded it over itself, and ironed it down.

Then it was off to the sewing machine to stitch it all in place.  You can’t even tell that I hemmed it!

Even better, I have a 25″x60″ scrap of fabric left to do anything with.  I think I may make pillows for the living room.  The two rooms are visible from one another, and I think it could help unify my home.

I still can’t believe I mixed up my measurements.  Oh well.  You can’t tell, and the new table cloth really does brighten up the space.  I’ll have to wait to see what Husband thinks.

3 Comments

Filed under DIY, Home Design, House Tour, Sewing

3 responses to “Pretty Cover-Ups…

  1. caedwin

    Looks good! When I saw that one online, I thought it looked like your style. Hope hubby likes it.

  2. why don’t you make a bag out of it? It’s a pretty and I’m sure robust enough fabric

    • You’re right, it would make a lovely bag, but I have tons of bags already, and I have no pillows on my couch. Plus, I’m excited about the idea of the unity the pillows could bring.

Leave a Reply

