In a Pickle…

Months ago, I turned my father’s over abundant cucumber crop into pickles.  More about that here.  I love pickles, and I had to look at these lovelys for what seemed like forever.

 

But the day finally came to crack a jar open, and taste how I did.  Well, it was a bit of a disappointment.  Really.  It was a sad, sad day.  The pickles were mushy.  The brine was overly vinegary, and I love vinegar, but not when its so volatile that it burns my nose.  The flavor was just not there.  The pickles had a ‘bread and butter’ smell, and I don’t like those, but really just tasted of vinegar.

So what am I to do now?  I have two big jars of the things, and I’ll have to do something with them.  I don’t want to waste them.  Maybe I can use them in slaw, or other heavily vinegared things.  What would you do?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, DIY, Gardening

Leave a Reply

