Making It Tiffany…

I have this silver tray.  I purchased it at a thrift store about a year ago, along with way too many other things, but even after scrubbing it with Tarn-X, it was apparent why the tray was thrifted in the first place.  The silver plating had worn off in many places, and although I liked the design, and the gentle engraving, I never actually used it.  It just looked too dirty.  Then the other day, I got an idea.

I could paint it!

At least I didn’t see why I couldn’t.  So I went to the Home Depot, and picked up a can of blue paint.  Why blue?  I wanted a nice pop of colour, and I found some subtle humor in painting a cheap, silver tray Tiffany Blue.

Tiffany is all the rage, and not being one to pass up a trend, especially when I can get the trend for cheap, I thought I’d jump on the wagon.

So I took my sad little tray outside,

Told you it was sad.

And shot it with this…

 

Once it was dry, I brought it inside for it’s photo shoot.  Of course, it was dark by this time, and the photos lack natural sun light, but you’ll get the idea.

I especially like that you can still see all my favourite things about the tray.  The design, and even the delicate etching all stand out now because the messiness of the silver isn’t so distracting.

I tried my best to get a good photo of the detail, but my lens isn’t that kind.  You may just have to take my word for it.

I don’t know what I will do with the tray now.  It will probably go back into the cabinet, but if I ever get tired of the blue, I can repaint it something more trendy — if the Tiffany trend ever goes away.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun and Free Ideas, Home Design, Musings, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

Leave a Reply

