Shuck N Jive…

Ok, so the shucking was already accomplished by the time I arrived, but there was lots of jiving.

What am I talking about?  Corn.

Last Friday, I went to my Mother’s to help her, and my Sister in Law, put up corn.  I think they picked a little over 100 ears, although I was lucky enough to miss out on that bit of fun as well.  When I showed up, they were in the wettest, and typically steamiest part of the job – washing, silking, and blanching.

When most people eat corn, they don’t worry too much about the silk – that’s the fine, thread like stuff amongst the kernels.  But in my family?  Especially in my grandmother’s house, corn wasn’t ready to be put up until nary a silk thread remained.  And I guess we all learned from her, although at times our laziness prevails – especially in that last 20 or so corn cobs.

But before you can truly silk, you have to wash, cut away bad spots, and check for worms.  My Mom got the worm job.

Fun, right?!

After they are rinsed, they get handed off to the Official SIlker.  In this case, it was my lovely Sister in Law.

You’ll notice she’s using a toothbrush to get the job done.  I’m pretty sure that’s not her toothbrush, but come to think of it, I never did ask.  In any case, what is great about a toothbrush is that it can get out some of the finer strands of silk, without damaging the kernels.  Then the cobs are rinsed again, and handed off to me.

Before I left my house, my mom called and asked that I bring my big, mack-daddy knife to help cut the ends off the corn cobs.  Being the dutiful daughter that I am, I obliged.  I handed my knife over to my step=brother, who pushed it through the corn like butter.  He must be way stronger than I, because when I tried, I couldn’t get it to budge.  Even worse, I was afraid I would injure my knife in the process.  Yes, you read that right.  I seldom worry about injuring myself.  I will heal.  But things, things don’t heal, they break.  Just my crazy logic.

So I asked for a hack saw.

It worked like a charm.  I did make sure to wash it first, although, really, the cobs were going into boiling water for 10 minutes, so I don’t think it would have mattered much.  So yes, after you chop the ends off the corn, it goes into boiling water for 10ish minutes to blanch.  After the time is up, they go to an ice water bath to cool down, and then into the freezer.

I came home with 11 cobs of corn, which for us, is nearly 4 meals worth.  And I got it all for free!

Since my mom has goats, all the scraps were tossed out to them, and will all be recycled.  How’s that for being green?

Have you ever put food away for long term storage?  Does your family have long cooking sessions/ gab fests?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Fun and Free Ideas, Musings, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

Leave a Reply

