Out of the Ordinary…

I did something a little nuts this morning.  I got up and watched the Royal Wedding.  Really, I just wanted to see what it was all about, and even more surprising, my Husband got up with me!

To make it more special, and to thank him for getting out of his nice warm bed at 4:45 this morning, I created a little party just for us.

Yes, that’s a table cloth on my coffee table.  And yes, that’s my good china, crystal, and even a silver platter.  I went all out.

Last night, in preparation, I bought champagne, orange juice, and the needed ingredients to make orange scones, as requested by my dutiful husband.  Besides, you can’t celebrate the Royal Wedding without scones, can you?  I had never made scones before, and they turned out beautifully.  I found the recipe here, and I highly recommend it.

I ironed the table cloth; it was made by my Great Grandmother, and set the coffee table.  I got the coffee pot ready to go, and I even went so far as to prep the bacon so that all I had to do in the morning was pop it into the oven – baking bacon is a simple way to cook it without having to stand at the stove flipping it.  Just put it on a rack set inside a baking sheet, and turn the oven on to 350 or higher, depending on how you want it cooked.

When the alarm went off this morning, I turned on the oven, brushed my teeth, and poured the mimosas.  As soon as the bacon was done, I turned off the oven, opened the door, and placed the scones – silver tray and all – into the oven just to warm a bit.

It was nice, but I wish it hadn’t been so early!  I feel a bit hungover now.  Oh well.  The day must go on.  Now I know what it’s all about, and if Prince Harry ever decides to take the plunge, I won’t be getting up to see his bride – cause let’s face it, nobody tuned in to see what Prince William was wearing.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Out of the Ordinary…

  1. "D"

    Your table setting looks lovely! What a lot of trouble you went to 🙂 Over a month ago we agreed to go out to dinner with a large group of folks, and when I realised it was the night of the wedding (it aired in the evening in Australia) I decided that I would sit and watch the next available re-run.

    So at midnight Friday night, I sat on my lounge, all rugged up and under a comforter, and watched the whole thing from start to finish. I slid into bed at 3:30am, glad I hadn’t missed a thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

