Brisket…

Ever since Husband inherited his father’s smoker, he’s been smoking like a train.  Every Sunday, smoke billows from our back yard as he attempts to perfect his smoking technique.  And he is getting better.

After the first try with ribs, we decided he should focus on one cut of meat, and perfect that first.  We settled on brisket because it’s easier than ribs, and because it’s authentic Texas cuisine.  The first brisket he smoked?  Well, it was definitely smokey, but not as tender as it could be.  The one he smoked last Sunday?  Much more tender, and if you ask me, the flavour was better.

So now that Husband is cooking all this meat, what am I supposed to do with it?

Tonight, I’m stuffing some of that brisket into pablano peppers.  I’ll probably add some cheese, and maybe even create some sort of sauce.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

What would you do with 6 pounds of smoked beef?

1 Comment

Filed under Musings, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

One response to “Brisket…

  1. caedwin

    My hubbie grilled a whole turkey this weekend; first time to try that and I thought it was BETTER than the Roasted Turkey he normally fixes! More juicy, better flavors (and I’m NOT a huge turkey fan!). Next time, he’s going to smoke one.

Leave a Reply

