For the Weekend…

Saturday was Gorgeous; with a capital G.  Really.  So perfect, that I decided that Son and I should take advantage, and we hit the park.  Thing is, we had errands to run, and I’m one of those people who likes to do things in order.  I hate to back-track, even when it comes to driving.  While I don’t have to travel in a straight line, I do have to move forward.  So I had to figure out how to get it all worked out with our errands in mind.

I decided on making a park trip a picnic, and squeezing it in just before getting groceries, because everybody knows you should NEVER get groceries on an empty stomach.  This also meant that we got to explore a new park.

What I like about picnics is that you get to eat al fresco, and it’s casual.  There is nothing sad about picnics.  What I don’t like about picnics is that you have to carry your food with you.  I like to eat off of plates, but I didn’t want to have to carry my dishes with me on my errands – dirty dishes in a hot car could get gross.

I also don’t like putting food in plastic baggies.  The food can pick up the flavours of the plastic, and you have to toss them into a land fill when you’re done.  So I decided to use wax paper; I even made wax paper bags for our pretzels and such.

It was perfect.  We could eat, and then clean up, with out smelling up my car, or the environment.  All was right with the world.

Of course, Sunday came, and winter returned.  Dang weather.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings, Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

Leave a Reply

