And the Project Goes On…

Last April Husband took an old cabinet we had, and put a top and shelves on it.  It became a new kitchen island that replaced an ugly black table I had been using.  I could’ve sworn I blogged about it, but I can’t find the post anywhere.  In any case, it looked like this…

It functioned, but was still a work in progress.  That progress has lasted nearly a year!

Last weekend, Husband finally put a top on it.  I was so happy.  He ordered a sheet of stainless steel, and got busy.  First, he used a metal break to bend the edges.

Then he trimmed the excess, glued on the top, and beat the sides into submission.

By Sunday evening, it looked like this…

For the first time in a year, I was able to wipe off the cabinet with a wet rag.  I was also able to do this…

Yep.  I can now roll out dough, knead bread, do whatever needs doing, right on the surface.  I’m so happy.

Then on Tuesday, Son and I went to HD, and picked up some wood trim.  We then broke out the miter box, and prettied that cabinet up just a bit.  She now has a working surface, and ledges to keep things from falling off her narrow shelves.

The only thing left to do is figure out what colour to paint her.  Yes, she’s still a bit ugly, but she’s mine, and I will love her anyway.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, yes, my robot and monster cookie cutters finally arrived.  Strangely enough, I liked the results of my lego-robots so much better.  Crazy how things work out.

2 Comments

Filed under Musings

2 responses to “And the Project Goes On…

  1. caedwin

    Husband did an EXCELLENT job and you did too! Who knew you could operate a miter box/saw!

Leave a Reply

