Done and Done…

I can’t believe it, but I actually got the two things I planned to do yesterday, done!  I wanted to fix the bathroom curtain, and sew Son a cape, and I did both.

First, the curtain…

Years ago, when I bought curtains for the bedroom, I hung a curtain in the bathroom as well.  From the outside of our house, the two windows in the bedroom, and the one in the bathroom, look like they are part of a set, and I wanted to keep that unity.  I only needed three curtain panels for the bedroom windows, and since they were sold in pair, it all worked out – three in the bedroom, and one over the bathroom window.  The problem was that the one in the bathroom cramped the doorway a bit, and hung to the floor, bumping over the window sill, and looking generally awful.  I’d been wanting to fix it for a while, but just hadn’t gotten around to it.  But then…

The other day, I was in the shower, and heard a crash.  I figured Son had gotten up, and waited for him to o[en the door, letting in a blast of cold air, but that never happened.  When I finished, I saw that the curtain had fallen from the window.  I had to fix it now.

It looks so much better now.  I hemmed the bottom, created a pocket at the top, and narrowed the whole thing.  I also had to re-hang the blinds; the previous owners hung them too far forward, so I broke out the drill.

Even Husband said it looked a million times better.

And then I got started on the cape.  It was a bit harder than I anticipated.  Having no sewing background, I’m sure I went about it the hard way, but the results are nice.  I did learn a few things, though.

  1. Little boys don’t like to stand still when you’re pinning a cape to them.
  2. Gold thread is difficult to sew with.  It’s slippery, gets caught in things, stretches, and breaks.

It took me most of the afternoon to make the cape, but Son seems to like it.  He’s not wearing it every second of the day, but maybe that will come.

I also noticed, after I finished it, that it looks a bit like an apron.  It IS NOT, though.  It’s a cape.  It has magical powers.  Comes from the gold thread.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

