Are You Ready to PARTY!!!

Yep.  Tuesday was Texas Independence Day, and that means that Saturday will be our annual Independence Day Party.  I figure if people can celebrate Cinco de Mayo here in the States, then Texans should celebrate Independence Day.  Besides, it’s another excuse to break out the sangria, and have people over.

We like to make pulled pork tacos, but we do a it a bit differently.  We break out the dutch oven, and fire up the grill.  For pulled pork to be tender, and, well, to be pull-able, you have to cook it for a long time, and rather than heat up the house, I like to use the grill.  Doing this also adds a bit of grill and smoke flavour to the meat, making it oh so delicious.

I don’t have a hard and fast recipe, though.  I only make it once a year, and I just sort of wing it.  I think this year I will toss a pork shoulder in the pot with some onions, chicken stock, and fresh chili peppers.  The end result will be spicy, but should be flavourful as well.

I’ll let you all know how it turns out.

Happy Weekend!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

