Monitoring…

I was very busy yesterday, and so I never found the time to post.  But Tuesday?  Well, Tuesday was different.  Much different.

Every state has some form of standardized test that students have to take, and usually pass.  Texas has the TAKS test, I think that stands for Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills.  When I was in school, we had the TAAS, and only the 10th grade had to take it, in the high school, that is.  The TAKS test is taken by every grade but 12th.  On Tuesday, our students took the English portion of the test, and I was assigned Hall Monitoring duty.

The consequences of students cheating is so severe, to the schools, not the students, that the administration goes a bit over-board with preventing it.  Students aren’t allowed out of adult sight for the entire day.  Cell Phones are taken up, and placed at the front of the classroom.  Calculators are cleared of memory – I still can’t believe calculators can do all the math equations for you now!  And students may not go to the restroom in groups, nor is any talking allowed through out the whole day.

My job of Hall Monitoring was to watch students as they walked to the bathroom, or lunch, and make sure they weren’t on their phones, talking, or doing anything else that could be misconstrued as cheating.  Within a 20′ radius, there were 3 other teachers, all doing the same thing.

Needless to say, it was a very boring day.  I was glad to have my trusty laptop to occupy my time.  Maybe next time I’ll read a book, or do a crossword puzzle.  And yes, there most certainly will be a next time.  Sometime in April, we have to do it all over again, only this time, it will be for 3-4 days.  Oh what fun!

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Monitoring…

  1. Pamela

    Hey don’t complain, at least you were allowed to have a laptop! We couldn’t even have a book. I was hall monitor for 2 hours AND outdoor hall monitor for 2 hours. Now I can complain.

Leave a Reply

