A Bit of Sad News…

As you all know, I’ve been trying to get a teaching job for a few years now.  I’ve gone about it from every possible direction, and still nothing.  I’ve even made friends in the schools, and my face recognizable to the principals and such that run the schools.  Through Student Teaching, I have proven myself worthy of a classroom, and my Mentor teacher now has a nickname for me, and says that I am his saving grace – he’s really busy.  But yesterday, my hopes and dreams would be dashed again.  The School Board released the Recommendations for Budget Adjustments for the 2011-2012 school year.  It’s grim.

First, there is a hiring freeze.  The 27 NEW teachers they need, and hoped to hire, are the first thing being cut.  They intend, instead, to shuffle teachers from one high school to the next, and even turn some current employees into teachers.  Then, they are cutting the campus and department budgets by %10, including the elimination of the drug testing program – lets hope they don’t tell the students.  The list goes on and on, in three phases.  They mention turning counselors into teachers, even assistant principals into teachers, but what gets me?

There’s NO mention of cutting in the Athletic Department!

Nope.  It’s not there.  They don’t even begin to cut jobs at the central district office until phase three.  Cutting out the teachers, turning counselors into teachers, cutting the department budgets, they all affect the students directly.  There’s no guarantee that the current counselors/assistant principals are good teachers.  And the counselors that are left will have their student load tripled – talk about quality time.

This new budget was emailed to all the teachers, but I don’t know that it’s gotten out into the public.  It won’t be changed unless there is a public outcry, and the public won’t say a thing if they don’t know.  None of my friends have kids in school.  So what do I do?  What would YOU do?

Oh, and a bit of information….  The High school I am teaching at now has 18 football coaches.  Yes.  18 coaches, for one sport, at one school.  Yeah.

5 Comments

Filed under Musings

5 responses to “A Bit of Sad News…

  1. Pamela

    Sad to say that we got pretty grim news yesterday, too, about the budget cuts. What is happening to public education is a tragedy. Not only are teachers’ lives being affected by losing their jobs, but students will surely suffer as well. Our school is writing letters to our representatives and attending community meetings. There is not much we can do other than that. In the mean time, I will continue to pray for my job and yours. *Sigh*

  2. namhenderson

    18 really?

  3. Pamela

    Yeah, 18 coaches is ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

