Colour My World…

Or, at least my bathroom, anyway.

I told you I wanted to paint the walls grey, but I didn’t have any paint chips in mind at the time.  I also may, or may not, have mentioned that I was painting the trim white.  I can’t remember.  So yesterday, after writing my daily post, I got to work.

First, I dug out my trusty cutting brush, you know the one with the funny angle cut, a roll of 3″ tape, the can opener, and the gallon of white paint we’ve had since we redid Son’s room 3 years ago.  Hard to believe, that can of paint has lasted through a nursery/boys room, guest room, and now will be used in the guest bathroom!  And it’s still going strong.  I don’t even think a half gallon has been used yet.  I bet I could paint my whole house trim white, and …. Well, that’s unnecessary.

So I taped of the cabinets and hinges, and then got to work, after cleaning the baseboards first.  Have you ever seen the baseboards in a bathroom used primarily by grease/oil covered men and boys?  Let’s just say it’s a good thing I had a bottle of simple green on hand.  And I’m sorry to all the guests who have had to look at those baseboards.  Really.

Another thing I discovered, is that the previous owners, flippers, had already painted the trim the exact colour of the wet paint I was applying.  I did my best to get two even coats of paint on there, but if I can’t tell where I’ve been, then you can’t tell either.  I also learned that painting trim behind the toilet is a pain!

While the trim was drying,  I drove to Home Depot, grabbed every single grey paint chip they had, and drove home.  I then cut the chips off the cards that had extraneous colours, applied double stick tape to the backs, and stuck them to the wall.  My paint selecting tactic usually goes like this…

Stick all the paint chips on the wall, and narrow down.

Then, move the paint chips to another wall, just to see how they look under different lighting.

While this process seems logical and pretty well fool-proof, it never works right for me.  I have a history of making bad colour choices.  I’m a designer at heart, and trained as an Architect, and yet, for some reason, I can’t get paint right?  It’s a bit of a bummer.   Usually I have a particular shade in mind, and when I get the paint on the walls, it’s something completely different.  For instance, I wanted my bedroom to feel cool and airy, so I went with a rainforest-lizard green; instead, I got tulip-leaf green.  In the living room, I wanted grown-up goldenrod or even an ochre; I got school bus yellow.  In the guest room, I wanted deep, dark, ultra-saturated blue.  It came out super-blue.  The only reason that Son’s room came out the right is because I was hormonal, and we repainted it three and a half times.  Husband finally picked the winning colour.  I just don’t have a great track record.

So, understandably, I was nervous when I drove back to Home Depot, had the paint mixed, and paid for.  I only have 100 buckaroos, so I can’t repaint if I hate the colour.  I was so eager to see how I did, that I got to taping right away.

First, I removed the tape from painting the trim, and then taped off the cabinets, shower, and light fixture.  I figured I’d wait a bit longer before taping off the trim – I did just paint it.  Then, I retrieved my still wet paintbrush from the kitchen sink, shook it off, and opened a can of whoop-a grey paint.  I then held my breath; it was the moment of truth after all.

It is perfect!  I still can’t believe it.  This may be the first time I’ve ever gotten the colour I was shooting for, without having a couple breakdowns, and repainting three and a half times.  See what you think..

You won’t beleive me, but I went with what starts as the Second square, then is the Third square, and finally the square in the corner, in the paint chip photos.  It’s Glidden’s Seal Grey GLN46 colour matched to Behr Premium paint.  Cost me $34.62.  That leaves me with… One Hundred, minus the 4, carry the one….$65.38.  I feel like I could’ve saved if I could’ve purchased a half-gallon.  I don’t even think I used a quart worth of paint, but oh well.  I’m sure it will get used for something.

I’ll post a few painting tips on Monday.  In the meantime, Happy New Year!

6 Comments

Filed under Musings

6 responses to “Colour My World…

  1. caedwin

    I think I would also paint the area over the shower.

  2. Pamela

    Love the grey!

  3. Pingback: Painting Tips… | Gettin' By

  4. Pingback: Pull the Curtain… | Gettin' By

  5. Pingback: Wooden Hooks… | Gettin' By

  6. Pingback: Nostalgia… | Gettin' By

Leave a Reply

