Waste Not, Want Not…

I love French Toast.   I love that it’s main ingredient is stale bread.  I love that the rest of the ingredients are simple, and inexpensive.  And I love that the results are divine.  I don’t make it too often, but receive nothing but smiles when I do.  What I never liked what tossing out all that delicious batter after dipping my bread.  But I no longer have to do that.  I got to thinking.

The batter for French Toast is nothing more than sugar, eggs, cinnamon, and cream; all whisked together.  Really, nothing more than a custard.  I bet I could pour the remains into a ramekin and bake it up.  So that’s just what I did.  I buttered two ramekins, placed them into a water bath, poured in the custard, and baked it in the oven.  I started with the temp on 200, then after an hour or so, raised it to 250.  When it still wasn’t set after another hour, I raised it to 300.  It set after another hour or so, and I pulled it out.

Now I know that people who are cooking actual custards don’t put them into the oven for 3 hours, on varying temps, but I was experimenting.  It worked!  The tops weren’t even cracked!  And they were smooth, and creamy.  One of the custards got a bit of water splashed into it when I was filling the water bath, but it only made it lighter, and more mousse-like.

I was delighted.  So next time you make French Toast, bake your batter.  You won’t be disappointed.

Oh, and sorry there are no photos.  We ate it too quickly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

