Substituting…

Yesterday I got to teach pre-calc and calculus.  The material was way over my head, but the students were good, and I had fun.  One of the things I noticed was that the teacher had made copies of the textbook pages the students were to work from.  At first, I thought this was simply because I was there, and he was trying to make it easier for me, then a student informed me that this was his usual practice.  Easch student was given two sheets of paper, front and back, but only needed to do the problems on the front page.  I couldn’t help but think of the environmental aspect of this.  All that wasted paper.  All that wasted money.

Today I’m teaching English II; we’re reading from books.  Thats much better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

