Thrift Store Lamp…

First, let me apologize for being soooo late!  It’s been a busy morning, and well, afternoon too.  Now, back to that lamp…

Remember that crazy trip to the thrift store I took weeks, maybe even a month ago?  I’m still working on projects from it.  If you paid attention to the initial post, you will notice I bought a lamp that had no shade.  Here it is again…

You can see the lamp just next to the trunk, behind the glass pitchers.  It was a nice form, even with the small chip, but oil-rubbed bronze just didn’t suit the colour scheme in the guestroom where I planned to have the lamp live out the rest of its days.  So I did what any thriftstorista would do, I zapped it with a can of rustoleum.  And yes, I think I just made up a word…it’ll catch on I think.  I chose white because the guestroom is done in blue, white, and silver/grey.

After I got it painted, I went to Home Depot to buy a new shade, but apparently my Home Depot doesn’t sell lamp shades anymore.  Strange, right?  So I went to their competitor, Lowes.  Lowes had lampshades galore, and even one that was a perfect silver colour and size for my newly white lamp.  But there was a problem.  The lamp shade didn’t fit onto the lamp socket just right.  I wasn’t sure why, so I asked the closest Lowes employee.  He explained that the socket on the lamp was missing a piece, and that I should replace the socket.  It was a 2 dollar lamp after all, so I followed the man to the socket station, and picked one with a pull chain – I liked the novelty of it.  Then I asked him just how I was to replace the part.  He handed me off to Cody, and Cody showed me how to first take the lamp apart.  After he got it apart, I asked if he could just replace it for me, since it was, after all, already apart, and it seemed silly to put it all back together just to take it apart again at home.  He happily said yes!  So Cody, with some intermittent help from another associate named John, fixed my lamp for me, and Cody was happy to do so – I asked.

In the end, I had a nice new lamp, that shade, socket and all cost me less than 20 bucks, and I didn’t have to do the work!  Lazy?  A bit.  But I like to think of it as using my resources.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Thrift Store Lamp…

Leave a Reply

