Labels…

The past week I have been busy transitioning Son from baby to kid.  I’ve boxed up his baby blankets, and gone through his toys.  I hung two hooks, at his level, inside his closet door for his jackets, and I even rearranged his dresser drawers so that he could use them.  Son can now get dressed completely on his own, if he only want to.  To aid in this task, I labeled his drawers, and it didn’t cost me a dime.

Husband had some leftover vinyl from when he put racing stripes onto his Mustang.  I asked, and he said I could use it for my labels, so I got down to business.  Of course, Son is not quite three, and since we never invested in the “Your Baby Can Read” program, he can’t.  So instead, I created pictorial labels, but included the words below in hopes that it will, at the very least, create a word recognition and familiarity.  Although, I will be lucky if he simply leaves the vinyl decals on the drawers.  After I created the labels on the computer, I mirrored the image, and printed it directly onto the back of the vinyl.  Then, I sat down with my trusty xacto knife, and got to slicing.  All those letters took some time, but I think it was worth it.  So far, the drawers looked good; I don’t know yet if the labels will work, but I have hopes!

1 Comment

Filed under Fun and Free Ideas, Musings

One response to “Labels…

  1. Pamela

    Cool idea. Thank you for encouraging your son to be independent…not all parents do, and it’s pretty evident when they come to school!

Leave a Reply

