I Amaze Myself Sometimes…

You already know I have a gift for leftovers, but sometimes I create something that even makes me say “Genius!”  Not that I’m here solely to toot my own horn, but I feel that what I made last night for supper was innovative and simple enough that I just had to share.

A week ago I made hummus.  Just a basic lemony hummus, but I ended up with too much garlic in it, so I doubled the recipe.  That didn’t help.  It was still vampire-killer, so it sat in the fridge for a while.  Last night, I pulled it out.  I thought

I bet hummus would make an alright base for pasta sauce…

Son scraped the hummus into a frying pan, and I started to whisk in some chicken stock – lots of chicken stock.  It needed more salt, and I added a scallion, but after that, I wasn’t too sure what to do.  I did lots of taste-tests.  I tried a bit of hummus-sauce with tomato; no go.  I tried a bit of hummus-sauce with kalamatas; not so wow.  I tried a bit of hummus-sauce with feta cheese; that tasted like soap; not good at all.  Finally, I tried a bit of spinach.  That worked, though it didn’t really add anything but a nice splash of colour.  Then I just let it alone.

I boiled up some spaghetti, and tossed it all together.  Since it’s been so hot, and Husband works in un-air-conditioned comfort, I opted to cool the whole dish for more of a pasta-salad sort of meal.

It worked wonderfully.  I can say with certainty, that if we ever have tons of hummus left over, I would repeat this.  Even better, I recommend it to you.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “I Amaze Myself Sometimes…

Leave a Reply

