Back to That Okra…

So as I mentioned last week, I made sausage and fried okra for dinner the other night.  The sausage was surprisingly good – we bought a box of semi-locally-made stuff, and they included the ingredients – I was worried.  And the Okra?  Well…

It was the first time I had ever made fried okra, or cooked the okra from my garden.  I was nervous.  There really is no set recipe for fried okra.  The best is always floured and not corn-mealed, but most recipes will tell you to use corn meal.  Instead, I beat an egg and a splash of milk together, and put all my cut okra into it.  Then I dredged it in flour, and fried away.

It came out perfectly.  It was the best fried okra I’ve ever had, and I made it from scratch, and since it was from my plant that I planted in my garden, it was extra-extra from scratch.  From now on, I’m letting the okra pods get to about 7-8 inches, and then I’m gonna chop and fry those suckers.  Delicious.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Back to That Okra…

  1. caedwin

    In my new “quick fix” cookbook, it suggests frying the pods WHOLE. Haven’t tried it yet, but don’t know why it wouldn’t work. Of course, it has pictures and the pods shown are about 4 inches in length.

    Wonder if your okra seed was specially developed to have tender longer pods. You ARE saving some of your seeds, right? Because, this type of okra did so well for you; it would stand to reason that if you planted seeds from this okra next year, it would do well also.

Leave a Reply

