Whoops…

So I completely forgot when I posted yesterday that I had class that night, and wouldn’t be cooking dinner.  I will have to make the sausage and okra tonight.  My brain has been a bit fuzzy lately.  Instead, Husband cooked last night for himself and for Son.  It’s almost always interesting to see what comes out of the kitchen when Husband is behind the stove.

Last night, he decided to reuse some left over turkey spaghetti sauce that I had made as a base for his creation.   He added more canned tomatoes, more garlic powder, and more “Italian Seasoning” to it.  It seems he then mixed it with a bunch of spaghetti noodles, poured it into a baking dish, and covered it with cheddar cheese.  I can only assume he baked it since the cheese was melted, and it was in a baking dish.  It must’ve been ok because together, they ate half the pan.  I will get my chance to try it either Friday or Saturday for lunch.

I’m glad he decided to repurpose some leftovers.  It has always been a big thing in my family to turn leftovers into something different, but just as tasty.  My dad taught me to never eat the same thing for dinner twice, and I seem to have a talent for switching things up.  I know sometimes you either can’t turn the leftovers into something different, such as stew, but if you think creatively, you can turn almost anything into something else.  Spaghetti sauce becomes lasagna, which then, if chopped up, becomes baked pasta, like ziti.

I know a lot of people don’t change up their leftovers, but I also know a lot of people who don’t eat their leftovers because they’re tired of the meal already.  So next time, try to turn it into something else.  If you need ideas, I’m here for you.  Send me your leftovers, and I’ll make a meal out of them!

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Whoops…

  1. namhenderson

    I have always been a big leftover fan. But not just reusing but re-making into something new. It makes it more appealing it seems. At least that is what my lady says, and she is not a leftovers friendly person. Unless I am making them.

Leave a Reply

