I’m Going on a Picnic Today…

Really.  Assuming the weather holds.  Husband and I like to meet for lunch once a week.  We go to places where Son can play, and we can either play with him, or not, depending on how we feel.  It gives Son a little more time with his dad, and gives me a little bit of a break, or at least I always feel more refreshed and energized afterward.  Thing is, it was starting to get a bit pricey.  Sure, 9 bucks a week at McDondalds or 12 bucks at Central Market (like Whole Foods) isn’t much, but we’re trying to save money, “Get out of Debt” as my grandmother would say.  So we came up with the Picnic plan.

We plan to go outside, during the hottest part of the day, to eat lunch and talk.  Well, Husband doesn’t work in air conditioned comfort anyway, so it’s not that big of a deal.  Today I’m making tuna sandwiches, maybe an extra cold, boiled egg, and maybe some other cold things.  In a lot of ways, this will be better than going out for lunch.

I get excited about planning things, and now I get to plan a picnic!  Also, I have to leave the house at 10:30 in order to get to Husband by 11am, and now I have to get the picnic lunch all put together.  This makes my morning much shorter than normal, and I like short, quick days.  It is also saving us tons of money as a tuna sandwich made at home costs pennies when compared to the 6 dollars you’d have to spend for a made one.  Plus, I get to use one of my Great Grandmother’s picnic blankets.

So yes, I’m a bit excited.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Too bad I don’t actually have a pic-a-nic basket.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

