Pita Pita

Many moons ago I posted that I would make pita bread.  Since it seems I never let you all know how it turned out, I thought I’d better just do that.  I hope some of you still have finger nails left after all that anticipation.

Turns out, Pita is super simple to make; you don’t even need a mixer, it is all done by hand.  First you sprinkle 1 teaspoon worth of yeast over 1.25 cups of warm water, and stir to disolve.  Then mix in 1.5 cups of flour – one cup at a time, and stir 100 times after you’ve mixed it all in.  Then just cover with plastic, and let it sit for 10 minutes to two hours.

After you’ve let the sponge sit, and get, well, spongy, add in another 1-1.5 cups of flour, and stir until it’s too stiff to stir.  Toss it out onto a floured surface, and knead for 8-10 minutes, adding flour as needed.  Cover, and let this rise for 1.5 hours, or place in a plastic bag in the fridge for up to a week.

When you’re ready, cut the dough into 8 equal pieces, and roll out flat.  You can either bake these on stones in the oven, or on a griddle, which is my preferred method.

The pita bread, while it didn’t pocket like they said, it did taste pretty darn good.  Good enough in fact, that I’m making them again tonight with a red pepper humus, and garden fresh cucumber salad; sadly it’s not from my garden, but my sisters, so it still counts as garden fresh.  As you can see, that’s a photo from tonight’s dinner, and the pita did pocket this time!

Delicious.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Pita Pita

  1. Looks yummy! I never made before i might have to try your recipe.

Leave a Reply

