Job Hunting…

As many of you know, I am unemployed, and still on the search for work.  I’ve even decided to switch careers to open up my search parameters a bit more.  On Friday I attended an exclusive job fair just for those in the same “become-a-teacher” as I am.  I called ahead, and learned that 33 representatives were expected, so I printed off 35 resumes.  This is no small feat, let me tell you.  Each resume has to include other papers and forms, so they are all nine pages each.  Thats 198 pages!  It may even be a whole tree.  No?  Its not?  Well it seemed like it at the time.  It also meant I had to buy more ink cartridges – Bah!  Even worse, is that there were not 33 tables there, and that some of them were from school districts over an hour and a half away from my house.  I handed out maybe 15 resumes.  That leaves me with copious amounts of generic, dated, resumes sitting on my desk as I type.

Its ok, though.  I’ve kinda been in this boat before.  I’ve had left overs from other job fairs, although, never so many, and I have come up with a money, and earth, saving solution.  I rip the cover letter page off of each set, reprint only a new cover page, and re-staple.  Sure, it means some resumes have multiple staples, but who’s going to notice that, and I’m saving a lot of money, and maybe even tree or two.

Even better, is that with the exception of the job fairs, all my resume sending has been through email.  It’s the most direct, and highly recommended method of getting in front of a school principal.  Sure, I could beat up a kid, or start a food fight in the cafeteria, but something tells me thats not quite the first impression I need to get hired.  Sending resumes electronically is super-efficient.  The only problem I had was that there was no signature, but with a little ingenuity, and my trusty camera, I solved that hiccup in no time flat.

I still don’t have a job, though.  I don’t even have interviews set up, but I’m still hopeful.  I’ll keep sending them out, and reusing the hard-copy ones when needed, crossing my fingers everytime.  Maybe you guys should cross your fingers for me, too!

2 Comments

Filed under Musings

2 responses to “Job Hunting…

  1. myrtle miller

    Said a prayer for you.

  2. Lynn

    Good Luck Sarah!!

Leave a Reply

