Back to School…

Since I can’t stay unemployed forever, and the Architectural field isn’t looking up, I have decided to become a teacher, as in a grade-school teacher.  My degree wasn’t specific enough to allow me to teach any certain subject in the state of Texas, so I took the test to certify me to teach anything between 4th and 8th grades.  The program is long, but at the end, I should have a license to teach children and impact lives.  I do like teaching people, so it’s really not that much of a stretch.  The reason I am writing about it here is because of the way they have the program set up.  It’s about 50% online.

I have never taken online courses, and I wasn’t sure I would be good at self-pacing myself, but I’ve been surprisingly disciplined so far.  What I like about the online coursework is that I save a lot because of it being online.  I save time because I don’t have to commute, and I can do it whenever.  I save money because I don’t have to commute, and I don’t have to print out assignments but rather simply upload them.  I save the earth because I don’t have to commute or print out papers.

I have to admit that I always thumbed my nose at those online institutions like University of Phoenix and such, thinking brick and mortar were better schools, and more respected.  But this new coursework I’m doing now has me questioning my prejudices.  Seems to me that online courses are a win win for everybody; a win for me, a win for the instructor, and a win for planet earth!

1 Comment

Filed under Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

One response to “Back to School…

  1. namhenderson

    I always had a similar sort of prejudice re: online schools. But in the last few years a number of friends have earned online degrees from reputable institutions including the one I am an alum of (U of F).

    I personally, still feel as if i would do better with a brick in mortars approach but…

    As for teaching congrats for the new career path. I still consider going back to teaching if i don’t end up going into a PhD program for urban planning/design.

Leave a Reply

