Quinoa…

Since we’ve cut meat out of certain nightly meals, I’ve had to get creative.  Last night I tried quinoa.  It’t the in grain right now, and supposed to be superb for you.  Turns out its an ancient grain from South America, cultivated by the Incas, and recently resurrected.  It cooks up with the same ratio and instructions as basic rice, and is said to taste like whatever you cook it with.

So I cooked it up with chicken broth, tomatoes, carrots, onions, and a bit of garlic.  It tasted alright, but the texture was strange.  It looks a bit strange too.  I bought the “red inca” variety – I thought it would look pretty.  The germ separated from the grain, which since its white, and the grain was red, looked a bit like little worms, but this didn’t deter us.  Mostly, the texture was our issue.  It’s a bit like the sandy nature of couscous, but since the chaff is still on the grain, it’s also crunchy.  Maybe I didn’t prepare it correctly; I’ve never had it before, and so have nothing to compare it to.

We will try it again, with different fixin’s.  Maybe I will stuff it into tomatoes or something.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Quinoa…

  1. namhenderson

    Sarah,
    I would say cook it a bit longer.

    Also, I think you should try stuffing it in a tomato maybe with some Mexican queso blanco cheese?. I have made some good cold salads with quinoa before.

Leave a Reply

