Look What I Did to Save the Planet

As I have mentioned before, I have a 2 year old son.  After playing day in and day out with a toddler, you begin to run out of ideas.  Sunday, I managed to kill a couple of hours, and entertain my son all at once.  Best part was that it was fun for me too!

I made him play-mat for his cars.  He’s a boy, and he likes cars.  His father works on cars, and cars are pretty much a solid part of our life.  If it makes you feel better, we can say that the cars in our little “village” are all electric, and therefore are kind to the environment.  I don’t know how many of you had car play-mats as a child.  They’re typically a rug with roads and buildings on them.  Nice, but expensive, and they almost never go with the decor.  They are fun, and they can give purpose to play, and maybe help to teach good driving habits – though I may be dreaming about this one.  I made one for Son out of a large piece of paper that came as stuffing in a package we recieved recently.  I reused material that had already been repurposed once.  The paper must have been part of a large laminating sheet or something because it had a waxing, slick feel on the blank side.  This made it tough to color on with the crayons, but Son is happy, and so am I.  And really, you get what you pay for, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under 1

Leave a Reply

