Diets…

You may have never thought about it, but diets can be a great way to save money and the earth while saving your waistline.  True, if you go with those plans that send you meals you will most certainly be spending more money, and hauling out more trash, but if you go a more traditional route, and simply count calories, odds are you will not eat as much, which translates to less waste, fewer animals going to the slaughter, less waist, and more money!

Husband has had me counting calories.  Not my own, mind you – that would be mean, but his.  At first it was a pain, all the weighing and such, but once you start, you begin to see that bag of chips actually last the 17 servings it says it can.  Which means I don’t have to buy them as often, and I can save money by simply cutting back.  If a bag of chips from the gas-station is 2.5 servings, and your average eater consumes the whole thing at once, then they’re eating 2.5 times what they should, and going through 2.5 more bags a week than they should, and when they should consume only 145.6 bags a year, they are going through 365!  Thats a lot of money and trash.

Everyone knows that Americans could do a lot for the planet if they simply stopped consuming so much.  Everyone knows that Americans are facing an “obesity epidemic.”  Everyone knows that we are in a recession and need to save money.  If we would simply stop eating ourselves out of house and home, we’d see a change on all fronts.

So do I hate weighing out portions?  Sometimes; it’s a lot of math to be doing when I’m trying to get dinner on the table, but I love that I am saving money, and that I have to take the trash out less often.  So I will stick with it to save my wallet and the earth.

2 Comments

Filed under 1

2 responses to “Diets…

  1. Great post! Have you heard of the “Vegan before 6” method? It’s kind of self-explanatory, it’s basically a vegan diet until dinnertime. I’ve found it is a decent method to transition from a meat-intensive or meat-regular way of eating to something less environmentally destructive…and it’s pretty easy to do.

    Keep up the good work!

    -Mike

  2. becks

    I find that limiting my choices makes my meals healthier and smaller, and creates less waste in un-eaten leftovers. So I buy in bulk, and get creative with it!

Leave a Reply

