What have I done today to save the planet?

It is freezing here.  Absolutely freezing.  They tell me that global warming is taking place, and let me tell you, I AM READY.  I’m ready to don sunscreen.  Ready to pull out my sunshades,  put on a swimsuit, and soak up some sun; another day of the mercury below 40 and I just may leave my blessed Texas.  Thats right, I’ve got my bags packed.  Think I’ll head to the warm beaches of Florida.  What?  Its Freezing there too?  Al Gore and his scientists better get back to the drawing board on this one.

But for now, I have to heat my house to a more comfortable temperature, and I have to do so thriftily.  My son and I spend most of our time in the kitchen and living room of our home.  Heating the other rooms of the house to a cozy temperature seems wasteful.  So I did what any girl would do.  I baked.  Yes, I baked two loaves of bread.  The way I figure it, the oven does two things…bakes the bread, and warms the kitchen while doing so.  Plus, I get two loaves of bakery quality bread for pennies.  Trust me, home baked bread is much tastier than the sliced cardboard I pick up at the grocery store for 87 cents a loaf.  True, you can’t make bread for less than 87 cents, but you can’t really call that stuff bread, can you?  And once the bread is baked, and the oven off, I leave the door cracked so the heat will escape into the kitchen, and not out the exhaust.  Mmmm Toasty.

1 Comment

Filed under Save my Wallet, Save the Earth

One response to “What have I done today to save the planet?

  1. Nice looking loaf! Now I have to post pics of my bread on my blog.

    good luck with blogging.

Leave a Reply

