Chipping In…

I promise this isn’t a food blog, but after yesterday’s roast, today, and tomorrow’s pie, I’m sure you’re going to think it is.  Although, if you think about it, I have pledged to be a better homemaker, and making delicious things is part of that, right?  But I had a better reason for the topic of today’s post.  I gave up caffeine.

My reasons for giving it up are boring, and I’m not going to be strident about it, but for now I’m feeling hazy, sleepy, and a bit head-achy, even after taking some medicine.  And when I’ve gone through caffeine withdrawal in the past, I’ve noticed that I crave sugar and chocolate, usually chocolate chip cookies.  So I made some.

I searched online for a decent recipe, found one here at Sweet Peas kitchen, and then cut it in half.  I only have three people, including me, in my household, and I certainly don’t need to keep a full batch of cookies around the house, otherwise I could end up the size of a house.

I followed the recipe loosely.

First bent rule? I used cold butter.  Since this was a spur of the moment sort of thing, I didn’t have softened butter.  Instead, I just cut the butter before putting it into the mixer.

And things didn’t get any closer to the directions when it came to my brown sugar…

Yeah, the recipe said “well packed,” and as you can see, my sugar is way to dry to pack.  Now I know you can heat the sugar in the microwave to bring back its moisture, but I didn’t feel like it; this was spur of the moment, and I had a headache.  Instead, I just measured half a cup, and then heaped it in an attempt to make up for the open spaces between all my dry chunks.

I creamed the butter and sugars together in my mixer, and had Son do all the scraping.

Not to be all “look at my kid!”  but look how hard he’s concentrating on his task…

While he did the scraping, and creaming, I weighed out the chocolate chips.  The recipe called for 16 oz of chips, and while they sell bags of chips that way, they don’t sell them in 8 oz packages, and if they did, they would cost more per ounce, and I wouldn’t buy them, and this was a spur thing, so I wasn’t going shopping.

I also decided, last minute, to add some Halloween candy to the mix.  I cut up some Tootsie Rolls, and those Peanut Butter Taffies, while Son added the remains of these “Candy Corn” M&Ms my mother gave us.

I figured all his hard work was worthy of a reward, and I’m not one of those who shies away from raw eggs, so I gave him the paddle once everything was mixed.

I used a 2 oz disher (those springy icecream scoops) to portion out my dough onto parchment paper.  Then I put Son back to work placing the cut Tootsie Rolls and Taffies on top.

They looked like this before going into the 375 degree oven…

And they looked like this, after…

Yes, those are rays of Heaven shining down on my cookies.

The taffies melted, making the cookies look a bit odd, but they still taste amazing; I know, I ate two.  The halved batch only gave me 15 cookies, which is much better than the 30 I can only assume a full batch would’ve made.

In the end, my head felt a bit better, and for something I threw together in less than 45 minutes, I’m pretty happy with it.

Don’t know how long they will last, though.

___________________________________________________________________

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/4 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

8 oz chocolate chips

Any agreeable candies you have on hand, chopped

________________________________________________________

Preheat oven to 375

Add butter to mixer bowl: if butter is cold, cube before adding.

Add sugars to the butter, and cream until smooth and fluffy.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda.

Scrape bowl, and add egg.  Beat until combined, and then pour in vanilla.

Add half the flour mixture, and beat on low speed.  When mixed, add the remaining flour.

Toss in candies/chips, and beat, or fold, into dough.

Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper (so you don’t have to wash it later).

Portion dough into 2 oz balls, and place on sheet 1-2 inches apart.

Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until brown around the edges, but not burnt on the bottoms.

Allow to cool on a rack until stiff, or at least until the danger of burning your mouth has passed.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Home Making

Leave a Reply

